# Cycling Australia

# National Para-Cycling Series 2020



#### 1. Introduction

#### **Purpose of the Document**

The purpose of this document is to provide Riders, Member States and Event Organisers with details of the National Para-Cycling Series ('NPS').

Goals of the NPS include:

- Create racing opportunities for para-cyclists
- Develops rider excitement throughout the year
- Provides a calendar of events which are of high interest to participants

#### **Context and Background**

The National Para-Cycling Series is an initiative of Cycling Australia (CA) with the support of local organisers. The NPS is conducted through the Individual Time Trials (Road) which are integrated into existing club and state events.

The aim of the series is to increase the racing opportunities for para-cyclists throughout the country.

#### **How The Series Will Work**

The NPS is a series where riders will score points in Individual Time Trial events and are awarded points based on the final standings in each race. Up-to the three (3) best scores from State nominated events plus the 2021 Cycling Australia Road National Championships in Ballarat will count towards an individual's series points.

Events within the NPS will be nominated by each Member State.

Each state will be able to include an unlimited number of events into the series. These events must following the regulations and standards set by CA for the series.

## **Recognised Categories**

All UCI para-cycling categories, athletes with an intellectual impairement and deaf athletes will be recognised within the series. Within each event the organiser will be required to recognise para-cycling as one category category.

# **Scoring Within the Event**

To score each event the Multi-Class Formula will be used. Multi Class (MC) is a format of racing specifically for para-cyclists, and allows for athletes from different para-cycling classes to compete in the same field. MC races are only suitable in Individual Time Trial events, where cyclists compete individually against the clock.

To rank each rider against other classifications the time (in seconds is multiplied by the MC Factor)

In order to compete in an MC event riders must have been given a relevant classification (i.e. H, B, T, C, Deaf, AWII). The classification can be 'provisional' but must be given prior to the event.

# **Calculations**

In order to calculate the rider's average speeds, the rider's course time needs to be converted into seconds the divided by the factor below.

Cat	Factor
MB	1.00
MC5/Deaf/AWII	1.05
MC4	1.09
MC3	1.12
WB	1.13
MC2	1.16
MC1	1.19
WC5	1.18
MH4	1.28
MH5	1.28
WC4	1.20
WC3	1.24
MH3	1.32
WC2	1.27
MT2	1.43
WH5	1.41
MH2	1.46
WH3	1.43
WC1	1.30
WH4	1.41
WT2	1.56
MT1	1.61
WT1	1.71
MH1	1.94
WH2	1.46
WH1	2.00

#### **Series Points**

Points will be awarded for classification at each event in the series as per the table below based on the final standings using the multi-class protocol.

Placing	Event Points
1	25
2	20
3	15
4	10
5	5

At the National Championships riders factored within those riders contesting the same distance and event points will be awarded to each different distance.

#### **Interstate Participants**

Riders may participate in events and score points in any series event.

# **NPS Champion**

The series champion will be awarded to the top male and female Para-cyclist at the Road National Championships.